This is a poem I wrote years ago about Child Soldiers. Its rough in edits, but I call it “Silently Weeping”

I’m silently weeping inside of my soul,

Wishing to be free from this aching hole,

That summer day, it would all change,

Never the same, never again,

I jumped the tracks between true, right and wrong,

Having no choice, I simply went along,

My life began to fade into a distant whirl,

Slowly dying, falling through a blazing hole,

I remember the first day when they made me shoot,

And the small, innocent village I was forced to loot,

My fingers were shaking as I held that metal gun,

My heart stopped beating and my soul went numb.

As my finger pulled the trigger, I had to close my eyes,

My heart began to scream, there was no longer a disguise.

I heard the screams inside my head

Or run through my mind as I laid in bed.

The eyes of the innocent stare deep into me,

I want to reach out, the demon won’t let me be,

I wish I could stop the violence I cause,

And yet my fears set up horrific laws,

I no longer feel or that’s what they say,

But within me is a boy just longing to stay,

On my mother chest holding her tight,

The tears would flow torrents,

Blocking my sight,

I shiver through life, it sucks in on me,

I open my eyes, but I no longer see.

I can no longer feel the warm summer sun,

My heart is stoic, my mind has gone numb.

I’ll try to forget, I’ll try to move on,

But I know its unsure, that this is my song.

My entire life is turning to grey,

Color and beauty have fled the other way.

We had no choice, yet I still feel I’m to blame,

The things I have done have erased my name.

I’m silently weeping inside of my soul,

wishing to be free from this aching hole.

7 Comments

Filed under My Poetry

7 responses to “This is a poem I wrote years ago about Child Soldiers. Its rough in edits, but I call it “Silently Weeping”

  1. slarsen

    That captures a deep and powerful place of emotion. It is evident that you have wept for the child soldiers.

  2. Patrick

    This is so provoking. I was deeply impacted. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Holly

    This poem made me really face the reality of Child Soldiers. The wording was really beautiful and powerful at the same time

  4. Jason Cox

    “I shiver through life, it sucks in on me. I open my eyes, but I no longer see…” – that was my favorite part. POWERFUL! KEEP WRITING!

  5. Mark Thompson

    gosh.. i don’t think its ever really dawned on me that this type of injustice is going on in the world. Thanks for writing that poem, and waking me up.

  6. Scott Wilder

    This poem makes me want to read more on this issue… tears my heart

  7. Katrina

    Your heart comes out through the lines and its beautiful. Thank you

Leave a Reply

