My morning ritual…

Every morning I wake up to the sound of a loud drum beating sporadically below my bedroom floor. Its my little brother Daniel furiously walloping his drum stick against his tambourine while his worship music blares in the background. Most of the time I roll over in bed with mixed feelings of frustration, but some mornings I can’t help but smile as I remember the intent look of concentration and delight glistening in his eye. I try to muffle the sound with my pillow and return to dream land, but it never seems to work out that way 🙂 Awake and groggy I make my way downstairs. As soon as Daniel hears me walk down the stairs he snaps into action. He throws aside his drumsticks, thrusts his boom-box into submission by slamming on the pause button and slowly sneaks towards me whispering, “Gussi? Gussi?” (The nickname he gave me years ago). When he catches my eyes he screams my name on the top of my lungs and runs frantically into my arms. He clutches my neck and kisses my face as I swing him in the air. When I set him on the floor he takes my hand and walks me through the kitchen, living room and dining room commanding every individual we see to hug me and wish me a merry “good morning”.

Daniel is one of the most selfless lovers I know. One day, I want to selflessly love like he loves. On the days when I am feeling the most discouraged, depressed, useless, or like a failure, he is always there waiting for me to give me a gigantic kiss and hug. When I cry he runs to the bathroom and grabs a long strand of toilet paper and sits next to me wiping away my tears saying, “Gussi, don’t cry…Guss don’t be sad.”. When I laugh and am filled with excitement he loves to come sit in my lap and hear all of my stories. Through the highs and lows, Daniel is always there.

It gives me a picture of what Jesus is like. Jesus is always there screaming my name, proudly showcasing me, lovingly enjoying me, and is always present. In the highs and the lows, He is there. Daniel has faithfully shown me a picture of what love looks like, and for that I am eternally grateful.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “My morning ritual…

  1. Hanna

    this post produced teary eyes as I imagine Daniel doing those EXACT things. 🙂 I wanna love like he does too!

    -Betke

  2. slarsen

    This has got to be one of my favorite posts so far. Daniel, I miss you.

  3. Desiree

    This made me so much appreciate the ones in my own life that love me!
    Mary you truly are a joy to Daniels life.

Leave a Reply

