My take on Bruschetta

There is something so inspiring in a French Baguette.

I was wandering through my kitchen trying to find something to cook for lunch, when my eyes suddenly caught sight of a lonesome French Baguette lying delicately on my pantry shelf. So… I decided to have Bruschetta. Not just any-other-type of Bruschetta, but Grape Tomato and Garlic Bruschetta. yum. yum. yum.
If I had time, I would make homemade Bruschetta mix everyday, but sometimes I don’t have the time to make it, so I bought a pre-made mix at Costco. If you want to do it homemade, here is a wonderful recipe I found online:

    Ingredients for Bruschetta:

8 roma tomatoes, chopped
4 sun dried tomatoes, finely minced
1/4 red onion, minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 lemon, juiced
1/2 tsp. extra virgin olive oil
1/4 tsp. shredded fresh basil (or according to taste)
salt and pepper to taste

Extra:
parmesan cheese, shredded
1 french baguette

1. First, get a bowl and mix the tomatoes, garlic, basil and onion together, eventually tossing it with the lemon juice and olive oil. Add as much salt and pepper as you like. I’m never exact, so have fun with the ingredients. 🙂
2. Once all the Bruschetta is mixed together, stick it in the fridge.
3. Start warming up oil in a deep-fry pan
4. Slice the French Baguette into 1/2 inch slices and stick them in the warm oil

5. The bread should be sizzling in the hot oil for roughly 4 minutes before flipping. You want both sides of the bread to soak in the oil and get a golden-brown-crispy texture.

6. Once both sides of the bread slices are a golden-crispy-brown, remove them from the pan and put them on a cookie sheet (As you can see, I burnt one of my pieces of bread)

7. Top the bread slices with your Bruschetta (I like to sprinkle on some Parmesan Cheese to add flavor and some color)
8. Place the bread-topped-with-bruschetta-and-parmesan-cheese, in the broiler for a couple minutes. You don’t want to burn the bread, but you want the Bruschetta to warm up in the oven.
8. Voila! You now have beautiful Bruschetta.
9. Bruschetta goes great with an Italian Salad with Balsamic Dressing, or even some grilled asparagus and seasoned beets.
10. Anyways. Thank you, French Baguette, for your flavorful inspiration.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “My take on Bruschetta

  1. anonymous

    I think you forgot to put the portions of olive oil and basil, but this is great to recipes up here. You must love recipes! 🙂

  2. Someday, I want to wake up in France and walk down the street wearing a flowy skirt and sunglasses and buy a fresh loaf of bread at the corner bakery. Oh, le pain.

Leave a Reply

