Venting.

I had one of those days where all the questions about “what are you going to do with your life?” seemed to crash down on top of my head. For some reason, as soon as you label yourself a ‘graduate’, people immediately assume that you know exactly where you want to go and how you want to get there. I’m not bitter about the fact, in fact I’ll go as far as admitting that I myself have labeled graduates as ‘entirely-together-and-completely-figured-out-individuals’, but I have come to the discovery that, despite rumors debating otherwise, graduates normally have no idea what they want to do with their lives. Of course you have a wide idea of your areas of interest, and you have a handy quiver of dreams and ambitions that have been placed on your heart, but honestly you don’t really know what to do with them. (For those of you who instantly know/knew exactly what field of practice you want/wanted to invade, I applaud you).

I’ve come to discover that its an overwhelming responsibility to own up to the title of a ‘graduate’. You have to immediately be armed and ready for a bombardment of questions regarding your immediate future.  I wish I knew what to do. But then, I’m glad I don’t. There is something so much fun about mystery. It’s completely horrible and yet entirely exciting. It feels like the worst time in your life, and yet I know it will make me happy thinking back on it. I have no idea what my future will look like, but rather than stressing out about it, I want to enjoy this season of mystery and live fully alive in the present.

Wow, this blog post ended up being an entire ramble, but it helped me vent in some mysterious way. Here I am sending vague letters out into open space, arranging them in random order. And yet it helps. I think I shall go to bed now. Goodnight random musings.

(flickr)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

