Let my madness be my joy.

I was studying Economics (quite a dreary subject, if you ask me) and I couldn’t seem to focus. My mind kept doodling words and I kept hearing this poem in my head, so I scribbled it out on my economic notes and this is what came out:

The world may call me mad,

but let madness be my joy,

If my madness is an anchor

and by it all foolishness destroyed.

The world may spurn my anguish,

the anguish that burns for Thee,

Yet may my anguish intensify

that my eyes may clearly see.

The world may mock and persecute

my intense visions stare,

yet my stare will ever increase,

till face to face I fare.

For life is not worth living

if you’re too afraid to die,

Dreams aren’t worth making

unless you wake  and try.

Flying is not worth trying

unless we reach to touch the sky,

and Love is not worth giving,

if we’re too afraid to cry.

Therefore, Oh Madness,

you, I will not fear.

Into Life’s gaping presence,

I willing will peer.

2 Comments

Filed under My Poetry, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Let my madness be my joy.

  1. Zach

    economics has that effect on me too. love the flow of this one.

  2. ” Love is not worth giving,
    if we’re too afraid to cry.
    Therefore, Oh Madness,
    you, I will not fear.
    Into Life’s gaping presence,
    I willing will peer.”

    ahh, what simple truths so many may never come to understand!

    You are a lovely poet.
    a Poet of Truth, a poet of depth.
    I really enjoyed this.

Leave a Reply

