This restless longing leaves me so breathless.

I feel such restless longing sometimes. I’ve been feeling it lately more than ever and these melancholic desires sometimes leave me so breathless.
There are so many children dying today all throughout the world and I just wish I could be with them, holding their hand, and sharing the love of Jesus. So many nameless faces and faceless names. When I close my eyes I can’t help but see their faces and imagine their histories. In the world behind my eyes, I can just see them looking at me. They don’t have voices, I can only see faces. But the eyes of children speak much louder than any word ever could.

Our culture makes it so easy to forget these weak ones. We value intellectualism, wealth, entertainment, and society to such an extent that we too easily slip into a dull numbness that blocks our eyes from seeing these weak kids. I don’t want to live under that dull numbness. I want to see. I want to see clearly.
and I want to love these kids well.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “This restless longing leaves me so breathless.

  1. Zach

    I’ve been working with those kids all summer. you should work at mission arlington some time!

Leave a Reply

